Introduction

cic-stanwyck-typewriter

Hello world, and welcome to my blog! I’m Ruth Sherwood (after the fabulous Betty Garrett’s character in My Sister Eileen), AKA The Counterfeit Writer. I’ve been a long-time classic film fan and avid blog-reader, and finally decided that I needed to launch a blog of my own, both to share my opinions on all the movies I’ve been watching, and to practice my rusty writing skills.

I love all things classic film, mostly from the Golden Era, although I make forays into silents and modern movies at intervals. My perennial favorites are Technicolor musicals, film noir, screwball comedy, and anything with amazing costumes, but I’m discovering new aspects about classic movies to appreciate all the time.

Much as I love classic movies, I also love vintage art and graphic design. In keeping with The Counterfeit Writer’s theme of “blogging the vintage visual arts,” in addition to my thoughts on old movies, you can expect to see posts on things like fashion in film, vintage art, illustrations, decorative book covers, set design, possibly the odd book review, and anything else that I happen to find interesting.

Real content should be coming shortly; I hope you enjoy. :)

Leave a Reply

